What a Summer it Was

Kits, selling, helping friends, a rally, Hobylette, Indian, jeez, there was a lot of stuff going on this summer.

The Baretta received a polini kit and a upjet, as well as a 11 tooth front gear (11×40). top speed is now about 45. Me Gusta. here are a few pictures of the install and the difference between the stock cylinder and polini cyclinder.

So after I kitted it, I timed it and got a temp sensor. I am running about mid to high 300’s, reaching up to 420 on big hills. the stock clutch fully engages at about 10-13 mph with the gearing I have.

I also helped install a 15mm intake and SHA on my friends maxi

I then picked up a Sears Free Spirit from Anacortes. It didnt have spark, switches, or sidecovers on it. After grounding the coil, I was able to get spark, Then I installed a new switch and let my friend ride it while he was rebuilding his bike. With a ported cylinder and a proma circuit on the stock jet (68) and leanest needle setting (yes that is correct) the bike went about 40mph at comfortable temperatures.

And here is a partial fleet picture, missing at the time were the Hobbit, Free Spirit, 1976 50V, and 40T. you will see them later.
left to right: 1981 Motobecane 51V Le Moped, 1970 Canadian Motobecane 50V, 1979 Baretta 38, 1978 Vespa Bravo, 1985 Suzuki FA50

Soon after this picture was taken, the hobbit stopped working. I tore it part and found a large split in the seal. so I ordered up some new one and installed the Boyesen ‘stock’ 2 stage performance reeds while I was at it. seemed to help with the low end a bit, didn’t gain anything up top.
Also, at this point in time, the Vespa Bravo, and all 4 Motobecanes were not titled. In WA, take a picture of the VIN and get a bill of sale and start hitting up Licensing agencies until they comply with 3 year registration. most places don’t know what to do and will shoot you down. If that happens, move on the next one.

Back In January, a friend/coworker of mine bought a 1971 motobecane, exactly like the one I had picked up a few months prior. We tore it down, replaced the bearings, seals, variator, threw a 74cc kit, 15mm carb, and ninja g3 pipe on it. It still needs some variator tuning, but dang that thing is fast. It was also the most frustrating ped to work on, but thats what you get with a Motobecane sometimes. Mine is the one with the whitewalls. Pic:

Since I had been collecting all these peds, I was beginning to run out of room and time in my schedule to work on them and ride them all, so I started to sell them. Now gone are the Le Moped, the Free Spirit, and the FA50. Pictures of the sales below.

I sold the Le Moped for $380, Free Spirit for $600, and the FA50 for $350.

Now it is Hobylette time! the POS 40T frame I had picked up was just a roller. wheels, forks, frame, and some other bits and pieces. The previous owner had taken a hole saw to the gas filler, so with the help of a spare tank and mt dads welding skills, made it complete again. the tank still needs to be coated due to some pinholes, but otherwise it is sturdy, has straight forks, stops well. Now on to the engine! I bought a PA50II engine off ebay for $100, rebuilt it with new seals and gaskets, put on a DR kit and attempted to use the stock carb without an air filter. no go. I will most likely have to get a PHBG and a new intake for it to clear the front pedal sprocket. If that doesn’t work, i’ll have to custom make something that clears the frame and pedal sprocket. as for the engine spring and mounts, I am using 1/8th stainless scrap that I got from a local metal company that I cut and drilled to size to use the stock hobbit mounts and stock moby mounts. works awesome. the spring is a gas lift from where I work. I was going to use 2 20lb lifts, but I think I am going to opt for a 40lb-er. I also just found out about those new moby rear variators. WANT, but no can afford, so single variator it is! TJT in the future instead. There is still a lot of work that needs to be done on the Hobylette, and it probably wont be finished until next year, when I have more time and money. Pic:

Thats all for now, quite long winded, stay tuned for a bit more about the summer

Leave a comment