What a Presidents Day Weekend

 

Heres a BIG update on everything

This weekend was awesome. I come home on friday and immediately start working on my brothers Vespa. I started off with a new main seal. Very easy; just a bit of heat and it comes right out. We then put the new exhaust on. Turns out it was broken from the factory, so we recruited my dad to re-weld the seam that was split, then painted it black. mounted it up, re-jetted and it wouldn’t run right. When I had replaced the seal I had forgotten to re-time it. It ran perfectly after that. He had also ordered a new speedo cable because the old one was broken. We found out why the old one broke while installing the new one. The speedo gears were frozen. Now he needs a new one of those too. He also hated the seat so he took it off and made a temp one out of plywood, a few towels, duct tape and zip ties, in the true moped fashion. He’s now cruising about 35 on the stock 12.10 carb with his new seal, techno circuit and drive belt.

 

 

On Saturday I went and picked up a few more mopeds: all Motobecanes. I had seen them on Craigslist over in Yakima but wasn’t able to go get them. I get a message on Facebook from a friend saying that he was the one who picked them up, and was wondering if I wanted to buy them from him, so I did! I drove out to Woodinville with my friend Curt to pick them up. A 1980 Le Moped (black), a 1976 50V (yellow), and a 1976 40T (orange)! all were in pieces and incomplete, but I like projects. The 40T I really like, and has been a moped I have been looking for since the beginning. It is a hard tail, meaning it has no rear suspension. Here are the bikes!

I got the bikes home, but had other projects I really needed to get done, so I moved them aside and got started on the Baretta. The Techno Estoril I had gotten earlier went on moderately easy, I had to dremmel a bit of material off to make it fit, and still need to make a proper rear exhaust hanger (right now its just zip ties). after jetting, it hits pipe at about 15mph and just keeps going and going up until what I think is about 40. this is on a 100% stock 30mph cylinder. there isnt much low end though, so climbing the massive hill by the house is still near impossible for anything except kitted bikes, 2 speeds (even thats pushing it), and hobbits.

On to Hayleys moped! I got a new exhaust and a 30mph cylinder for it. The combo of the two unfortunately offered little performace boost. about 4 mph, but it sounds cooler I guess. I think I might put a 70 airsal on it in the future. Another thing too is that the Proma exhaust sits very low to the ground, so I am going to heat it and bend it upward so it will fit more snugly against the frame and not scrape over every bump.

 

 

Oh yeah! the FA50. Here it is, I don’t think you guys have seen it yet. its pretty crusty right now. I think I will have it running next weekend.

 

 

Also a few weeks ago I helped my friend get his Hobbit running. Here are a few pictures of putting it back together after we painted the frame matte black with a few coats of semi gloss clear. I may have a few more pictures of it later on.

 

 

An finally as I finish this crazy long post, here are a few cool pics of my Hobbit

 

Leave a comment